Join with the COFFIES (Consequences of Fields and Flows in the Interior and Exterior of the Sun) Team to explore how to work together to understand the workings of the Solar Cycle.

This meetings focuses on three scientific themes that are ripe for advance: The Solar Tachocline, Magnetic Flux Transport and Emergence, and the Near-Surface Shear Layer. Other topics include Model Integration and contributing Science areas of Helioseismology, Dynamo Modeling, Solar Convection, and Links to Photospheric Observations and status of the COFFIES DRIVE Science Center.

The meeting will be held on Friday August 12, 2022 at 08:00 PDT following the official SPD/TESS meeting.

We look forward to seeing you all at TESS!


Hyatt Regency Bellevue - Juniper Room
900 Bellevue Way NE
Bellevue, WA, 98004


In person attendance is strongly encouraged; however, we will support LIMITED virtual attendance for those who cannot travel.

The registration fees are as follows: Registration Fees
Registration Types Regular Fee (July 10 - 31) Late Fee (Aug 1 - Aug 12)
In-Person Registration $75 $100
Remote Registration $35 $50

If you have any questions about the registration, please let Lisa Upton know. We look forward to seeing you all at TESS!


We have arranged for a block of hotel rooms to be held at special rate at the TESS conference hotel (Hyatt) for the night of Friday August 12th, 2022. To get that rate you need to use the button below.

If you have any problems please contact Michelle Valero at SWRI.

Unfortunately, this cannot be used for the days earlier in the week for the TESS meeting -- that needs to be done separately and if there are issues, you will need to contact the TESS organizers. However, if you have already gotten a reservation at the Hyatt for those days, we recommend that you contact the hotel to link those reservations.


The day's agenda is provided below: Agenda
Time (PT) Topic
08:00 Ice Breaker
08:30 Welcome and Introductions
Todd Hoeksema
08:40 Greetings from NASA
Nicky Fox
08:50 Tachocline Theme Science
Nic Brummell
09:40 Near Surface Shear Layer Theme Science
Rudi Komm
10:30 Break
10:45 Flux Transport and Emergence Theme Science
Aimee Norton
11:30 Model Integration and Goals
Dave Lauben
12:00 Lunch Break
13:00 Student, Education, and Diversity Programs Opportunities in COFFIES
Dan Zevin
13:30 CET Team Session
Lisa Upton
14:00 Dynamo and Convection Science Discussion
Sasha Kosovichev
14:30 Helioseismology and Surface Observations Science Discussion
Ruizhu Chen
15:00 Adjourn

Science Organizing Committee Members

  • Todd Hoeksema (Stanford)
  • Bill Abbett (UCB)
  • Nic Brummell (UCSC)
  • Nick Featherstone (SWRI)
  • Gustavo Guerrero (NJIT)
  • Rudi Komm (NSO)
  • Aimee Norton (Stanford)

Local Organizing Committee Members

  • Shea Hess Webber (Stanford)
  • Lisa Upton (SWRI)
  • Dave Lauben (Stanford)
  • Savannah Perez-Piel (UC Berkeley)
  • Sushant Mahajan (Stanford)
  • Ruizhu Chen (Stanford)